Chapter Business


During 2017-18, our primary agenda items are:

1.  Pressing for an open and collaborative process in the search for KSU's next president.

2. Working with the Faculty Senate, Department Faculty Councils, and College Faculty Councils to ensure that the processes and procedures associated to shared governance at KSU are adequately enforced and supported

3.  Issues of academic freedom across the KSU community

Upcoming business meetings and social events will be posted on facebook.

NOTE: Please email with suggested agenda items

Chapter Bylaws and Officers

The Kennesaw State chapter of the AAUP is governed by bylaws that have been registered with and approved by the national organization.

The full membership of the chapter meets at least twice per academic year.

The elected officers of chapter are the president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer.  Officers' terms are two years.  The last election was held during Spring Semester, 2017. Current officers will serve until August 1, 2018.

Executive Committee
Between meetings of the full chapter the business of the chapter is conducted by an executive committee that consists of elected officers of the chapter, the immediate past president, and additional members selected by the current officers to assure that all colleges are represented. At present the Executive Committee consists of:

Andrew L. Pieper, Ph. D., Associate Professor of Political Science

Vice President
Jennifer Purcell, M.P.A., Ed.D., Assistant Professor of Leadership Studies

Meg Dillon, Ph. D., Professor of Mathematics 

Heather Pincock, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Conflict Management

Past Presidents
Dr. Timothy Hedeen, Associate Professor of Conflict Management
Dr. Tom Keene, Professor of History
Dr. Ulf Zimmermann, Professor of Public Administration 

Other Past Officers 

Vice President Dr. Ken White, Associate Professor of Political Science and Criminal Justice

Treasurer Dr. LeeAnn Lands, Associate Professor of History